Are you a mummy bore?

One of the perils of not having a job is that I’ve become a little too wrapped up in my children’s lives. My husband thinks I’m becoming a mummy bore. Can it be true? Are there people out there who don’t want to know about my son’s double crown? Or my daughter’s love of red peppers? (She just likes red ones, not yellow or green. Fascinating).
Anyway, another peril of not having a job is that you have enough time on your hands to devise a pointless quiz like this one.

ARE YOU A MUMMY BORE?
Are you obsessed with your children, or do you have a life beyond nappies, nursery rhymes and anything else beginning with N that I just can’t think of right at this minute? Try our fun quiz to find out.

You’re wrestling with a tricky moral dilemma. You ask yourself:
a) What would Jesus do?
b) What would Madonna do?
c) What would the Gruffalo do?

You’re having sex with your partner. As events reach a crescendo, you cry out:
a) ‘Yes! Yes! Yes!’
b) ‘Shh! You’ll wake the children!’
c) ‘Horsey, horsey, don’t you stop!’

Do you like cheese?
a) Yes, mostly French ones
b) Yes, but did I mention my daughter is allergic?
c) Yes, check out this sculpture of my baby that I made entirely from Emmenthal

On a rare romantic dinner date with your other half, you stare into his eyes and say…
a) ‘Darling, I love you more than ever’
b) ‘Did you Sky+ “Got To Dance”?’
c) ‘Did I tell you I got Charlie to try peas the other day? They were petits pois, actually, so I told him they were teeny tiny baby peas and he actually ate them! Can you believe it?!’ *

* based on actual events

RESULTS
Mostly As
Well done, you’re still a woman!

Mostly Bs
Not bad, you’re half woman, half mummy – a womammy

Mostly Cs
You’re an obsessive mum – a mobsessive. Or would that be an obsessummy? I think I’ll go and put the tea on now…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Are you a mummy bore?

  1. Oh dear, I don’t think I scored too well there… Funny post. xx

  2. Mostly bs.
    Q1 – b -Son is now a teenager so the Gruffalo no longer impacts on my decision-making.
    Q2 – a – Thankfully he will sleep through anything so I can do a Meg Ryan whenever the urge takes me.
    Q3 – I don’t like cheese
    Q4 – b- We’ve been married 20 years but Sky+ is still a novelty.

  3. c,b,b,c – I’m a “B” woo-hoo! Can I be a “B”? That would make this a scientifically valid survey since I am completely incapable of making friends with other wimmin on the sole basis that we have similarly aged children – I do get bored talking about children even if I shelled them myself. I have a half-arsed post somewhere on the subject I might finish one day.

  4. I’m too busy laughing at ‘horsey, horsey don’t you stop’ to do the quiz properly.

  5. ELS

    Mainly ‘a’ which means I un-maternal Lady Macbeth type who often forgets she even has children, as evidenced by the number of empty bottles that can appear on a school night…

  6. Hmmm. A concerning issue and I have two questions: what happens when questions one and two merge and I’m excited to find out what the Gruffalo keeps in his terrible sock? and what’s a romantic dinner date?

  7. Life as a womammy isn’t too bad after all.

  8. notwavingbutironing

    Thanks for visiting, ladies. Would have replied last night but fell off the radar a bit – watching American Idol. I’ve just read my post back and it must be painfully obvious to all that I need to get a life. Today I just want to stick myself all over with pins! Must try harder!!

Leave a Reply

