I’ll never write that novel

Last night I found, under the bed, a suede notebook my husband had bought me back in January. It was supposed to be my ‘Book of Inspiration’, where I could jot down plots for children’s novels, brilliant business ideas, snatches of dialogue to work into my bonkbuster, etc. I wondered where it had disappeared to. Anyway, I blew the dust off and opened it; all the pages were blank apart from one, where I’d written ‘Biscuits’. Whether it was a book idea or a shopping list, I haven’t a clue. But I think it sums up the last 11 months pretty succinctly.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I’ll never write that novel

  1. I wonder what sort of biscuits they were?
    Having a good laugh at your posts – and love the clever title of your blog (I often feel I’m drowning in my ironing too).

    • notwavingbutironing

      Thanks for reading it! I’m totally new to this so don’t have a clue what I’m doing – am hoping this reply actually finds you. There are tons of buttons to press, and I’ll probably press the one that deletes the entire Internet. Really enjoyed reading your blog, especially the nightmare tale of how you had to ‘help out’ making brownies. You summed up EXACTLY why I try never to go in!

  2. That’s so funny. I wonder what the biscuits referred to?

    I have lots and lots of those notebooks too. I get given them every year. Still haven’t written that novel.

    • notwavingbutironing

      ‘Biscuits’ could have been my dream ticket – maybe it was a screenplay idea? ‘Coming to a cinema near you soon: “Biscuits”, starring Brad Pitt and Jake Gyllenhaal…’ Guess we’ll never know – I can’t even remember what I had for lunch most days.

  3. I’m new to this too, only been on British Mummies a fortnight and already the ironing is piling up as I keep nosing at everyone’s blogs.
    Keep in touch!

  4. That’s so funny.

    Perhaps it was an idea for a fabulous children-orientated business. Biz-kids. No?

Leave a Reply

